Togolese club, Comets, MFM for Oguche b’ball tourney


DYTO Lome, a Togo basketball club and top Nigerian sides Ebun Comets, Rivers Hoopers and First Bank are among the clubs that have been confirmed for the Sam Oguche Energy Bullet Basketball Championship, which holds November 1 to 6 at the National Stadium, Lagos.

Organiser of the event, Sam Oguche, who spoke from his base in the US, said a few more teams would be invited to join the 19 already confirmed clubs for the competition.

“We are almost good to go with the teams featuring this time. There are about two or three teams, especially in the women’s category, still under consideration,” he said.

Oguche, an ex-international who was also a guard with the Lagos Islanders added, “I am delighted once again to expand the next edition of the championship to add more teams.”

The male teams registered for the event include Hot Coal, Nile University, Mo Heats, Correctional Services, Ebun Comets, Legends Lagos and Kwara Falcons.

Others are Rivers Hoopers, DYTO, Warlords, Delta Force and Grizzly Bear.

Besides First Bank, the other teams in the women’s event are MFM, Air Warriors, Impression Basketball Academy, War Queens, Peace Basketball Academy and Tap Queens.

Hoopers, who represented Nigeria in the first edition of the African continental event, BAL, are tipped as favourites for the trophy. Lagos Legends are steadily on the rise, while Abuja based scholars, Nile University cannot be overlooked. They were champions of the NBBF National Division Two League and Division One.

There will be team and individual prizes backed by entertainment and fun the American style, Oguche added.