Sanwo-Olu, Betsy Obaseki, others for Sportsville Award


Top government officials are set to receive this year’s Sportsville Special Recognition Award, including the Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu; Bayelsa State Governor, Douye Diri; wife of Edo State Governor, Mrs Betsy Obaseki and former Director-General of the defunct National Sports Commission, Dr. Patrick Ekeji, at the prestigious Lagos Country Club, Ikeja, Lagos February 4.

CEO of Sportsville, Frank Ilaboya, stated this shortly after receiving the report from the Award Committee headed by New Telegraph Sports Editor, Adekunle Salami.

“We are happy to announce the above personalities as our winners for this year. I want to thank the Award Committee for a job well done,” Ilaboya said.

“From our end, plans are in top gear to have another successful outing.

“We also want to thank the sports minster, Sunday Dare, and the sports-loving Deputy Governor of Edo State, Philip Shaibu, for accepting to chair the event and as Special Guest of Honour respectively,” he added.

Other winners of the individual awards include the sports-loving General Overseer of Mountain of Fire and Miracle Ministries, D.K. Olukoya; basketball administrator, Col Sam Ahmedu (retd); proprietor of Naija Ratels, Paul Edeh and President of HS Group, Taye Ige.

Others are Chairman of Remo Stars FC, Kunle Soname, initiator of Lagos Women Run, Tayo Popoola; foremost golf sponsor, Olusola Adekanola and Nigeria’s new sensation in sports commentary, Emmanuel Etim.

Wrestling coach to the last Commonwealth Games in Tokyo, Purity Aku and top indigenous kits manufacturer, Tunji Brown, popularly known as Owu Sports, also made the list.

Late Brown Ebewele, who passed on last year, will receive a posthumous award.

In the corporate worId, Zenith Bank and Supersports would be honoured for their roles in sports development and sponsorship in Nigeria.