NFF elections: Akinwunmi, Dikko, nine others cleared


Johnny Edward

The Nigerian Football Federation Electoral Committee 2022 has cleared a total of 11 persons to contest for the position of federation President at the elections scheduled for September 30 in Benin City, The PUNCH reports.

Top on the list are current Vice Presidents of the NFF, Seyi Akinwunmi and Shehu Dikko, Ibrahim Gusau; current Member of Board, Suleiman Yahaya-Kwande; immediate past General Secretary, Musa Amadu and Head of Safety and Security of the Confederation of African Football, Christian Emeruwa.

Others cleared for the exalted post, to be vacated by Amaju Pinnick, are Amanze Uchegbulam, Mouktar Mohammed, former Nigeria international, Peterside Idah, Abba Yola and UK-based David-Buhari Doherty.

Paul Yusuf from Plateau State and Marcellinus Anyanwu were disqualified as a result of invalid nomination.

The trio of Felix Anyansi-Agwu, Senator Obinna Ogba and Chinedu Okoye will battle for the post of 1st Vice President while Yusuf Ahmed was the only one who obtained the form, and has been cleared for, the position of Chairman of Chairmen.

Contesting for seats on the Executive Committee from the South East are Pastor Emeka Inyama (Abia State), Chikelue Iloenyosi (Anambra State). Pascal Ojigwe (Abia State), Jude Obikwelu (Anambra State) and Emmanuel Ochiagha (Imo State).

For North Central are Alhaji Mohammed Alkali (Nasarawa State), Margaret Icheen (Benue State), Idris Abdullahi Musa (Kwara State), Daniel Amokachi (Benue State) and Benedict Akwuegbu (Plateau State).

Current Member of Board, Ms Aisha Falode tops the list of candidates from the South South region, with Kenneth Nwaomucha (Delta State), Gregory Abang (Cross River State), Roland Omomoh (Edo State), Poubeni Ogun (Bayelsa State), Jarret Tenebe (Edo State) and Essien Udofot (Akwa Ibom State) also vying for seats from that zone.

Current Member of Board, Ganiyu Majekodunmi leads the list of contestants for seats from the South West, with Sunday Dele-Ajayi (Ondo State); Gafar Liameed (Lagos State), Afolabi Olugbenga (Osun State); Ayodeji Adegbenro (Ondo State) and Pelumi Olajengbesi also in the race.

Ayodeji Ogunjobi (Osun State) was disqualified for not providing evidence of tax payment.

North East candidates are current Member of Board, Babagana Kalli (Borno State), Sajo Mohammed (Adamawa State) and Timothy Magaji (Taraba State). Current Member of Board, Sharif Inuwa (Kano State) is the only candidate from the North West.